SCHECHTER INSTITUTE
Home Hebrew


News

Schechter News

About the Graduate School
M.A. Tracks
M.A. Integrated Academic Programs
2015-2016 Course Catalog
Faculty
Research Institutes
Map of Graduates
Annual Report
Hebrew Website
About the Rabbinical Seminary
Course Catalog
Staff and Faculty
Map of Graduates
Annual Report
Iyunei Shabbat
About TALI
TALI Principles
Programs
Schools and Pre-Schools
TALI Textbooks
Visual Midrash - TALI Art and Judaism Website
Staff
Map of TALI Schools
Annual Report
TALI Hebrew Website
Neve Schechter
Midreshet Schechter in Israel
Midreshet Yerushalayim in Ukraine
Staff
Annual Report
About Our Publications
Schechter Bookstore
TALI Bookstore
Responsa in a Moment
Faculty Forum
Insight Israel
Ask The Rabbi
Iyunei Shabbat
The Midrash Project
About Women and Judaism
Jewish Law Watch
To Learn and To Teach
Nashim
MA Program
Board Members
Administration
Schechter in the Media
Schechter News
Annual Report 2015-16
Spring of Tolerance Campaign
The Voices of Schechter-Give Today
Donate Online
How to Give
What Your Donation Provides
New Campuses in Jerusalem and Tel Aviv
Endowment Campaign for The Schechter Institutes
Development News 2015-16
Facebook Logo Google Plus Logo YouTube Logo Receive updates
NEWS     SCHECHTER NEWS
Print this page  Print
kredi kartı borç sorgulama
 
 
 
 
 
Date: Aug. 17, 2016

Preparing for the High Holidays – Two Sessions of Online Study

File200.gif

(in English)

Sunday, September 18 with Prof. David Golinkin
Monday, September 19 with Rabbi Avi Novis-Deutsch

Sunday, September 18, 2016

U'netaneh Tokef: On the History and Meaning of the Central Piyut (Poem) of the High Holidays
by Prof. David Golinkin, President, The Schechter Institutes, Inc.

10 am EDT, 9 am CDT, 8 am MDT, 7 am PDT, 5 pm Israel time

The one hour lecture,including Q & A, will discuss: When and where was this poem written?  What is its theology?  Is it still relevant today?
___________________________________________________________________________
 
Monday, September 19, 2016

High Holiday Sermon Seminar:
From Rav Rahumi (Ketubot 62b) to Rav and the Butcher (Yoma 87a): Rabbinic Yom Kippur Stories and Their Meaning for Today
by Rabbi Avi Novis-Deutsch, Dean of the Schechter Rabbinical Seminary
 
12 noon EDT, 11 am CDT, 10 am MDT, 9 am PDT, 7:00 pm Israel time
 
Concealed throughout Talmudic literature are stories that take place Erev Yom Kippur.  Further investigation shows that this date is not coincidental, but rather an intentional review of that last moment we are all granted before “Yom HaDin;”  that last chance to reflect deeply upon a man who understands that there is still much to do by way of personal Tikkun - but very little time in which to do it.  During our online session, we’ll take a broad survey of the Erev Yom Kippur stories, distilling from a few, the message that our rabbinic sages were trying to convey to us on the importance of preparing for Yom Kippur.  Over the years I have used a number of these stories as the basis for Yom Kippur sermons and I look forward to sharing this knowledge with you, my colleagues.

Pre-registration is mandatory for both classes.  Please contact: support@schechter.ac.il to register and receive online log-in instructions.


The Schechter Institutes, Inc.:

Box 3566, P.O.Box 8500, Philadelphia, PA, 19178-3566, Tel: 1-866-830-3321, schechter@thelapingroup.com

Jerusalem Campus: Schechter Institute of Jewish Studies:

4 Avraham Granot St., Jerusalem, Israel, 91160, Tel: 972-747-800-600, pr@schechter.ac.il, www.schechter.edu

Tel Aviv Campus: Neve Schechter – Legacy Heritage Center for Jewish Culture:

42 Chelouche St., Neve Zedek, Tel: 03-5170358, office@neve.org.il, www.neve-schechter.org.il

The Schechter Institutes, Inc.:

Box 3566, P.O.Box 8500, Philadelphia, PA, 19178-3566, Tel: 1-866-830-3321, schechter@thelapingroup.com

Jerusalem Campus: Schechter Institute of Jewish Studies:

4 Avraham Granot St., Jerusalem, Israel, 91160, Tel: 972-747-800-600, pr@schechter.ac.il, www.schechter.edu

Tel Aviv Campus: Neve Schechter – Legacy Heritage Center for Jewish Culture:

42 Chelouche St., Neve Zedek, Tel: 03-5170358, office@neve.org.il, www.neve-schechter.org.il